Projects and Working Groups

CIMAM 17-11-19-photo-Jodie Barker-324.jpg

The board plays a vital leadership role in supporting the mission of CIMAM to ensure the continued recognition and sustainability of museums, collections, and archives of modern and contemporary art as contributors to the cultural, social, and economic well-being of society.

During their honorary tenure, CIMAM board members each contribute to practical and strategic working groups that look to ensure a global participation and perspective, acknowledge visionary practices, and to address some of the more urgent challenges facing modern and contemporary museums today.

1. Outstanding Museum Practices in a Time of Global Crisis

In light of the closure of museums due to the global Covid-19 pandemic, CIMAM wishes to call attention to the exceptional work being carried out by our museums and peer institutions around the world at this critical time.

The 2020–22 CIMAM Outstanding Museum Practice committee consists of six CIMAM board members: Suzanne Cotter (Chair), Suhanya Raffel, Ernestine White-Mifetu, Ann-Sofi Noring, Malgorzata Ludwisiak, and Rhana Devenport.

2. Museum Watch Program

In 2012 CIMAM initiated a series of statements regarding difficult situations affecting Museums and Collections around the world. This led to the Museum Watch Program that serves as an advocacy program addressing specific critical situations that impact on the operations of museums, not-for-profit institutions, and individuals working in the modern and contemporary art field, sometimes in regions affected by world economic and political crises.

The 2020–22 Museum Watch Committee consists of six CIMAM board members: Bart de Baere (Chair), Calin Dan, Sarah Glennie, Malgorzata Ludwisiak, Victoria Noorthoorn, and Eugene Tan.

3. Sustainability and Ecology in Museum Practice

This program was launched in November 2019 with the aim of responding to the current climate emergency and of working together with ICOM’s Sustainability Working Group to identify and put together a set of best practice guidelines. The group on sustainability and ecology will be addressing the following questions and developing them collectively with CIMAM members: How can museums respond to the climate emergency?

The 2020–22 Sustainability and Ecology in Museum Practice group consists of five CIMAM board members: Frances Morris (Chair), Suzanne Cotter, Mami Kataoka, Ann-Sofi Noring, Suhanya Raffel, Malgorzata Ludwisiak and Rhana Devenport.

4. CIMAM’s Annual Conference Contents Committee

The committee works together with the hosting institution to identify the conference topic and sub-subjects for each day. The Annual Conference aims to anticipate and discuss questions relating to the running and development of contemporary art museums and collections worldwide.

The 2020–22 Contents Committee consists of five CIMAM board members: Malgorzata Ludwisiak (Chair), Saskia Bos, Agustín Pérez Rubio, Eugene Tan, and Victoria Noorthoorn.

5. Engaging with ICOM – International Council of Museums

As part of CIMAM’s strategic goals for this triennial, this new working group initiated in 2020 will work closely with ICOM on key issues that concern museums globally, such as climate change and ethics.

The 2020–22 Engaging with ICOM group consists of six CIMAM board members: Mami Kataoka (Chair), Suzanne Cotter, Suhanya Raffel, Frances Morris, Ernestine White-Mifetu, and Bart de Baere.

6. Travel Grant Program

It supports the curatorial and research development of individuals through their attendance at the Annual Conference. The aim of this working group is to secure funding for the program ensuring the geographical diversity of opportunities in underrepresented areas.

The 2020–22 Travel Grant Program committee consists of four CIMAM board members: Agustín Pérez Rubio, Eugene Tan, Victoria Noorthoorn and Ernestine White-Mifetu.

7. Museum Best Practices

It consists of identifying documents of reference for the profession that can be endorsed or shared on the CIMAM website. This is an ongoing task for all CIMAM board members. The establishment and support of professional codes of practice and ethical standards for institutions and individuals are key for CIMAM as it is the forum of reference for the international professional community

8. Fundraising

This is an ongoing task for all CIMAM board members. As a largely volunteer-driven organization and constituted as a not-for-profit organization, CIMAM relies heavily on the generous support of individuals and organizations. CIMAM is led by a voluntary board of contemporary art museum professionals that set the strategy and oversee the operations of the committee. CIMAM is funded through the generous support of a group of patrons and its membership.