CIMAM's new Board 2023-25

13 November 2022

WEB_CIMAM_BOARD_2023_2025 (1).jpg

We are pleased to share with you the names of the 15 professionals elected by the CIMAM membership who will guide CIMAM's projects for the next three years! The Board election results were announced at the end of the CIMAM General Assembly during the 2022 Annual Conference, hosted by Es Baluard Museu d'Art Contemporani de Palma, Mallorca, Spain, on Sunday 13 November:

Zeina Arida. Director, Mathaf, Doha, Qatar; Bart De Baere. Director, M HKA, Antwerp, Belgium; Suzanne Cotter. Director, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, Sydney, Australia; Joselina Cruz. Director/Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art and Design, Manila, Philippines; Amanda de la Garza. Director, MUAC, Mexico City, Mexico; Leevi Haapala. Director, Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma / The Finnish National Gallery, Helsinki, Finland; Clara M. Kim. Chief Curator & Director of Curatorial Affairs, The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, USA; Malgorzata Ludwisiak. Chief Curator, Modern Art Department, National Museum in Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland; Chus Martínez. Director, Institute Art Gender Nature, Basel, Switzerland; Victoria Noorthoorn. Director, Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Agustín Pérez Rubio. Former Director MUSAC, MALBA, Curator 11th Berlin Biennale, Independent Curator, Madrid, Spain; Suhanya Raffel. Museum Director, M+, Hong Kong, Hong Kong; Kamini Sawhney. Director, Museum of Art & Photography, Bangalore, India; Kitty Scott. Deputy Director Chief Curator, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, Canada; Yu Jin SENG. Deputy Director (Curatorial & Research), National Gallery Singapore, Singapore.

Many congratulations to all, and a warm welcome to the new Board members!

CIMAM's new President and Secretary General


The members of the outgoing and incoming CIMAM Board elected Suhanya Raffel as President of CIMAM for the three-year term 2023-25.

"To serve as the next President of CIMAM is an honor, and I am excited to work together with my fellow board members to contribute to our modern and contemporary art museum community as we face a complex and challenging world," expressed Suhanya Raffel.

Bart De Baere, who has been appointed as the new Secretary General of CIMAM for the same period, stated "CIMAM is teamwork, not only within the board but also together with our wider community. In these disruptive times, joining forces and sharing capacity is more urgent than ever".

Over the next three years, the CIMAM Board will continue to focus on our values, bringing our members together through online forums by continuing our Rapid Response Webinars while deepening our engagement in building institutions that implement sustainability processes as we grapple with the climate crisis. The key Museum Watch program, a cornerstone of CIMAM, has built a vital advocacy role, supporting our colleagues while promoting strong and sustainable governance.

The outgoing President for the period of 2020–22, Mami Kataoka, was appointed an Honorary Member of CIMAM in gratitude for her dedication and essential contribution. Both Mami Kataoka and Suhanya Raffel sincerely appreciated the efforts and the vital work of the outgoing Board.

Outgoing and incoming board.jpg
Incoming and outgoing Board members present in Palma, Mallorca. From left to right: Bart de Baere, Kitty Scott, Suzanne Cotter, Amanda de la Garza, Victoria Noorthoorn, Mami Kataoka, Calin Dan, Clara M. Kim, Sarah Glennie, Frances Morris, Leevi Haapala, C