Statement of the CIMAM board on South Korean Government’s blacklist of artists

The board of CIMAM is deeply concerned to hear of the blacklist of artists that has come to light during the current investigations into government corruption in South Korea.

The existence of such a list and the uncertainly around how it has been implemented undermines the reputation of the arts institutions under the control of the Government.

That artists would be secretly banned from exhibiting because of their political views is not acceptable to the international artworld and the board of CIMAM deplores such actions.

Members of the CIMAM Board:

Elizabeth Ann Macgregor OBE
President of CIMAM
Director, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia
Sydney, Australia

Mami Kataoka
Secretary-Treasurer of CIMAM
Chief Curator
Mori Art Museum
Tokyo, Japan

Bart De Baere
General and Artistic Director
M HKA, Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp
Antwerpen, Belgium

Saskia Bos
Art Historian and Curator
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Suzanne Cotter
Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art
Porto, Portugal

Calin Dan
General Director
MNAC Bucharest, National Museum of Contemporary Art
Bucharest, Romania

Corinne Diserens
Brussels, Belgium

Sarah Glennie
Irish Museum of Modern Art
Dublin, Ireland

Sunjung Kim
Art Sonje Center
Seoul, South Korea

Frances Morris
Tate Modern
London, United Kingdom

Ann-Sofi Noring
Co-Director and Chief Curator
Moderna Museet
Stockholm, Sweden

Agustín Pérez Rubio
Artistic Director
MALBA, Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Suhanya Raffel
Hong Kong, China

Jaroslaw Suchan
Muzeum Sztuki in Lódz
Lódz, Poland

Eugene Tan
National Gallery Singapore