Last days to register!

CIMAM 2018 Annual Conference
The Museum in Transition
2–4 November, Stockholm

More than 200 international professionals, directors, and curators of museums and collections of contemporary art, from over 60 countries, are meeting in Stockholm 2–4 November to discuss the challenges that art museums face in today’s complex and rapidly changing society.

The CIMAM 2018 Annual Conference, hosted jointly by Moderna Museet, Bonniers Konsthall and Magasin lll Museum & Foundation for Contemporary Art, focuses on the contemporary situation for art institutions in the context of dynamically shifting technological, cultural, socio-political positions and the challenges of diminishing resources and mixed economies. How can art institutions navigate in this fast-changing world and maintain their ethical positions?

Day 1: Global Realities – Challenges for Modern and Contemporary Museums
Day 2: The Future Intelligence of Museums
Day 3: Ethics of Museums in an Age of Mixed Economy

Speakers include: Daniel Birnbaum, Director and Ann-Sofi Noring, Co-Director, Moderna Museet, Stockholm, Sweden; Victoria Noorthoorn, Director, Museo de Arte Moderno de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Katya García-Antón, Director, Office for Contemporary Art, Oslo, Norway; Loulou Cherinet, Professor of Fine Art, Konstfack University of Arts, Krafts and Design, Stockholm, Sweden; Michelle Kuo, The Marlene Hess Curator of Painting and Sculpture, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, USA; Lars Bang Larsen, Guest Professor, Royal Institute of Art and Curator, Moderna Museet, Stockholm, Sweden/Copenhagen, Denmark; Ho Tzu Nyen, Artist, Singapore, Singapore; Yuk Hui, Philosopher, Writer, Berlin, Germany; Jörg Heiser, Prof. Dr. University for the Arts, Berlin, Germany; Ahmet Ögut, Artist, Amsterdam, Netherlands; Ann Gallagher, Director of Collection (British Art), Tate, London, United Kingdom and Mami Kataoka, Chief Curator, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, Japan.

The CIMAM 2018 Contents Committee consists of six board members: Ann-Sofi Noring (chair), Saskia Bos, Suzanne Cotter, Corinne Diserens, Elizabeth Ann Macgregor and Eugene Tan.

The Annual Conference is generously supported by ArkDes, Nationalmuseum, Royal Institute of Art, Public Art Agency Sweden, Stockholm University, Kulturhuset, Thielska Galleriet, Tensta Konsthall and City of Stockholm.